Friday, February 1, 2013

66th Philippine Airlines Interclub golf team championships

Golf teams from Davao City are now gearing up for the 66th Philippine Airlines Interclub golf team championships which will tee off February 21 in Cebu City with the Senior's division.

Lawyer Domingo Duerme, vice president of PAL Mindanao, said four courses will be used for the very first time in tournament history.

"This year's host unravels four golf courses for the event, hence the theme "4 at the Fore," he said.

The championship starts with the Senior's division on February 21-24 at the Alta Vista Golf and Country Club and Club Filipino de Cebu Golf Club with a record 100 teams, including 53 from abroad.

Cebu Country Club and Mactan Island Golf Club will then host the regular Interclub set February 26 to March 2 featuring more than half of the 78 squads in the regular Interclub are from overseas.

Cebu, which is eyeing back-to-back titles in the regular division, is hosting the unofficial national golf team championship for the first time in 12 years. Cebu now enjoys a hometown advantage as its confidence was boosted after winning last year's title over Del Monte in Davao by eight points.

The Cebuanos led by Lloyd Go's 70 points finished the four-day, five-to-play, four-to-count event with 507 points. Third place went to Alabang Golf with 493 points.

Wack Wack won the Founder's division with 476 points as the Mandaluyong-based team edged Orchard (461) and Negros (445). The Sportswriters class went to Camp John Hay (411) followed by Eagle Ridge (388) and Mt. Malindang (387).

In the Friendship division, Austral-Asian (303), Fil-Am Hawaii (284) and PGA British Columbia (282) finished in the top three in that order.

Competition was stiff in the seniors' tournament as Canlubang rallied in the final round to edge old rival Luisita, 571-568. Cebu Country Club landed a strong third with 566 points.

Manila Golf Club nipped Apo Golf, 524-523, to win the Founders crown while Fil-Am Hawaii came home with the Sportswriters plum with 479 ahead of Davao (473) and Chamorro (472).

No comments: