Monday, March 18, 2013

2nd Agri-Pinoy Rice Achievers’ Awards

As the country's top rice achievers for 2012, 10 provinces and 48 cities and towns received prizes totalling P110 million in project grants and cash incentives from the Department of Agriculture on Friday.

During the event, Agriculture secretary Proceso J. Alcala handed over the awards to the respective provincial governors, city and municipal mayors, during the "2nd Agri-Pinoy Rice Achievers' Awards," at the Philippine International Convention Center, in Pasay City.

Nueva Ecija, Isabela, Pangasinan, Nueva Vizcaya, Bulacan, Kalinga, La Union, Davao del Sur, Compostela Valley and Zamboanga del Sur were among the top 10 provinces given awards as rice achievers.

Rice achievers for 2012 also included 18 irrigators' associations (IAs), three small water impounding system farmers' associations (SWISAs), and more than 460 agricultural extension workers (AEWs).

Aside from each receiving trophies, the top provinces each received P4-million worth of project grants; P1 million worth of project grants to each of the winning cities, municipalities and IAs; the three SWISAs got P500,000 each of project grants; and the AEWs each took home a cash incentive of P20,000.

The contest will continuously be conducted to give due recognition to the hard work and support extended by farmers, local leaders and farm technicians to increase rice productivity and incomes.

Representing about 30 percent of the country's total harvest of 18.03 million metric tons (MMT) last year, the top 10 provinces combined palay production totaled to 5.34 million metric tons (MMT) during the period.

No comments: