Monday, March 18, 2013

Araw ng Dabaw Motocross Challenge

Daredevil Donark "The Rocketman" Yuzon of Iloilo City lived up to his lofty billing as the country's No. 2 rated motocross rider by ruling the Araw ng Dabaw Motocross Challenge held March 16-17 at the Crocodile Park Complex in Ma-a, this city.

The 30-year-old Yuzon, who represented Team Phoenix, won both the Pro and Expert divisions in the two-day event held also as the first leg of the Phoenix Mindanao Moto-X Series.

Yuzon, a native of Iloilo, trailed in the first lap of the five-lap final race of the Pro event before grabbing the lead in the second. But Tagum City-based Kimboy Pineda, also of Team Phoenix, again took back the lead after an overshoot by Yuzon.

Yuzon, who rode on his Kawasaki KXF450, however, gained back the driver's seat in the third lap and never looked back for the victory.

Pineda settled for second place followed by Jeven Legrada and Jesse Pineda, both also of Team Phoenix as third and fourth, respectively.

Yuzon, who won in Bukidnon last week, also pocketed the Expert division followed by Jesse Pineda, Glen Lapus of General Santos City, Lagrada and Timoy Olmoguez of Davao in that order.

"Sasali din ako sa next leg ng Phoenix," said Yuzon, who will also compete in the Palawan International Motocross next week.

The second leg of the Phoenix Mindanao Moto-X Series presented by Cyclomax and organized by Bok Mata will be on May 5 in Butuan City. The first leg was supported by Kurmat Enterprises, Sankai Japanese Restaurant, Sign Factor, Kawasaki, Honda, KTM Davao, Toyota Davao, Sarap Toyo,

Kamikaze Dual Sport Riders Club, Nature's Spring Water, Lipovitan, Colt45, MKI Inn, 95.5 Hit Radio, 92.3 Wild FM, Jevri Trading, Adan Co, Philsaga Mining, DTRO, Lipovitan, Sumifru, Mac Cycle Mart, Chowking, Tagum Trio Lumber, Kirbymate and ETG Sand & Gravel.

On the other hand, 16-year-old Abu Mata also of Team Phoenix shared the limelight by winning both the 250cc and Rookie divisions.

Mata beat Winston Fernandez of Midsayap to the finish line in the 250cc. Third was Jaspher Banot of Don Marcelino followed by Davao's Tristan Galanto and Bonjo Lagrada.

No comments: