Friday, March 1, 2013

March 2 a special non-working day in La Union

President Benigno S. Aquino III has declared March 2 a special non-working day in the province of La Union, in commemoration of its 163rd Foundation Day.

The Chief Executive issued the declaration to give the people of La Union the full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

The province was created in 1850 when the Spanish colonial government of Governor-General Antonio Maria Blanco merged the southern towns of Ilocos Sur province, the northern towns of Pangasinan, and the western towns of Benguet to the east.

No comments: