Friday, September 25, 2009

Culture of Gratitude in Silliman University, Dumaguete City, Philippines

The culture of gratitude prevailed this Founders Day by honoring some of the faithful servants and former mentors who helped establish Silliman's mark of excellence. Home Economics Professor Emeritus Evangelina Nobleza Bokingo was honored by naming the little center of hospitality at the main building of the Nutrition and Dietetics complex, Prof. Eve Bokingo Lounge. There was groundbreaking of the future Rev. Dr. Edmundo Pantejo Memorial Chapel at the Silliman University Medical Center Foundation grounds, led by his wife, Mrs. Ophelia Recla Pantejo. The circular road in front of the SUMC was named The Palmore Circle in honor of James and Mimi Palmore; the Law Library cyber corner as the College of Law Decenteceo E-Library in honor of former librarian Felicisimo S. Decenteceo; the road from Langheim Road to the amphitheater passing the new Nursing Education Building was named the Roman T. Yap Lane in honor of the Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Trustees; also in honor of Col. Roman T. Yap is the ROTC Office now called the Col. Roman T. Yap ROTC Center; SC 110 was named the Rabor Science Lecture Room in honor of the Bird Man of the Philippines Dr. Dioscoro S. Rabor; SC 111 was named Imperial Science Lecture Room in honor of the First Filipino Chairman of the Chemistry Department Prof. Gerardo A. Imperial; the Biology Museum as the Rodolfo Gonzales Museum of Natural History in honor of Professor Emeritus Rodolfo Gonzales; the former soccer field beside the gymnasium as The Ravello Physical Education Field in honor of Professors Emeritus Jose and Sofia Ravello; the Archery Range as the Dionisio Flores Archery Field in honor of Outstanding Sillimanian in the field of Sports Development  and former Archery International Coach Dionisio R. Flores; and the Marine Laboratory facilities as the Dr. Angel C. Alcala Environment and Marine Science Laboratories in honor of world renowned scientist in Coastal Resources Management  Professor Emeritus Angel C. Alcala.

The third batch of Silliman mentors who were honored as Heritage Builders include the founders of the Mission Hospital Henry W. and Eleonor A. Langheim, the first S.U. Filipino Science teacher Guillermo T. Magdamo, Music Education pillar Mercedes V. Magdamo, first S.U. Filipino Bible teacher Lorenzo B. Bernardez, Basic Education pillar Genoveva E. Bernardez, first S.U. Filipino Spanish teacher Mariano Muñoz, College of Education pillar Dr. Herman C. Gregorio, Law Library pioneer Felicisimo S. Decenteceo, the former President's Social Secretary and Alumni Affairs Director Ludy S. Perez, Chemistry Laboratory pioneer Victorio Alaban, University Library pillar Gorgonio D. Siega and Leoncio Duran of  Buildings and Grounds.  Their names were added on The Heritage Builders Wall at the Silliman Hall grounds on August 25.

Installed into the Order of Horace B. Silliman in ceremonies held at Silliman Hall grounds on August 25 were Dr. Romeo B. Ariniego who gave much towards the completion of the  Udarbe Memory Chapel, the late Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Trustees Roman T. Yap represented by Mrs. Mary Consolacion Yap, the generous former Chairman of the Board of Trustees Fred S. Dael and his corporate associates represented by Rachel Gadiane Silliman, Outstanding SUCN alumna and donor of the Nursing Education  Building Olivia Villaflores Yanson, long time patron of the Robert B. and Metta J. Silliman Library and College of Nursing William Barry Thompson, and the donor of the Allied Health Sciences facilities and of the research arm of Dr. Angel C. Alcala, the Angelo King Foundation, Inc. represented by the President Teddy Kingsu. Present to do honors of the floral offering for Dr. Horace B. Silliman were Nathalie Yap and Allen King.

Someone asked, "Why does your Founders Day feel festive with the people in high spirits?" We explained that the people who come are our alumni, most of whom join the re-unioning classes.  Represented this Founders Day were the following:  SUHS 1939, SUHS 1947, SUHS 1948, SUHS 1949, SUHS 1951, SUHS 1952, SUHS 1954 (donated a Verano painting to celebrate their Emerald year), SUHS 1955, SUHS 1956, SUHS 1957, SUHS 1959 (they launched the Rabor Bird Walk to celebrate their golden year), Law 1959, BSN 1959, SUHS 1962, a general gathering for Class of 1964 represented by students who graduated that year from grade school to high school, college to graduate school in celebration of their Sapphire year, SUHS 1965, SUHS 1966, SUHS 1969, Pre-Med 1969, BSN 1969, BSN 1989, Accounting 1970, SUHS 1974, SUHS 79 (mounted a photo exhibit to celebrate their Ruby decade), SUHS 1984 (celebrated their Silver year), SUHS 1989, SUHS 1990, SUHS 1994, SUHS 1999, Accountancy 1999, Elementary 1999, SUHS 2004 , the alumni groups from Aklan, Bacolod, Bukidnon, Cabadbaran, Cagayan de Oro, Cebu Alumni, Davao (with their winning colorful performance in Parada Sillimaniana), Dumaguete, SoCKSarGen ( South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani and General Santos), Metro Manila, Misamis Occidental, Palawan, Western Samar, Tacloban, Tanjay, ZAMBASULTA (Zamboanga, Basilan, Sulo and Tawitawi), Antique, Melbourne, Acacia (Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia and Western Pennsivania), Singapore, NCR(Washington DC, Maryland, and Virginia), Honolulu-Hawaii, Central Texas and from the following organizations Demolay, Rhoans, Pan Hellenic, Beta Sigma and Rizal Youth Club.

15-year-old Glenna Duch, a high school student whose mother is a Filipina and the father from Denmark, was crowned Miss Silliman 2009. Joining her were the runners-up: Miss Silliman COED Joahnna Saad of the College of Engineering and Miss Silliman Headline Girl Djerica Mate of the College of Mass Communication.

The College of Computer Studies won the University Cheerdance Competition.  Junior Philippine Physics Society got Booth of the Year at the Hibalag Festival.

The centerpiece of the celebration was the Sunrise Service which had the 2009 Outstanding Sillimanian Rev. Dr. Francisco D. Somera Jr. as preacher. The Rev. Dr. Federico Agnir was the speaker on Silliman Sunday, the 23rd of August.

TIPON in Dumaguete was a huge gathering that lasted until the wee hours of the morning.
IN MEMORIAM: Theonilo Pala (BSME 1977) on August 8, Nostradamus A. Villanueva (SUHS 1964) on August 8 And  Leila Berenguel Alano on August 21. (If you know of a Sillimanian not in our memorial list, please inform us.)
Thank you for always being there for dear old Silliman.  President Malayang has requested this office to regularly update you about happenings on campus.  We are also interested in knowing what you and your alumni chapter are doing. Please keep in touch and update your file with our office if you have not done so. We would truly appreciate it.  You may reach the President's Office through this email address: or our Alumni Affairs Office through this address:, or