Tuesday, February 5, 2013

10 dioceses that have no Filipino bishops

The country has 10 dioceses that have no bishops.

According to retired Lingayen-Dagupan Archbishop Oscar Cruz, the reason of the vacant dioceses is that the Vatican is having a hard time in appointing new bishops for the country.

"I heard that there are 10 vacant dioceses now and many are waiting for their bishop. l think Rome is having difficulty in choosing a new bishop for the country," he said in an interview.

Among the vacancies are in Imus, Gumaca, Dumaguete, Romblon, San Carlos, Zamboanga, Bontoc-Lagawe, Infanta, Kalookan.

Cruz opined that the possible reason is the pontiff might be looking for a certain qualification.

"Maybe they are looking for a certain qualification, a way of doing things or a way of thinking…there is no fast rule on this really," he said.

However, he is not worried as the Vatican would soon name bishops to said dioceses.

On the other hand, Cruz said that the number of retiring bishops is rising.

"Formerly we (retired) 7 or 8, but now we are around 30, I think," the prelate said.

On Friday, Pope Benedict XVI accepted the resignations of Kalookan Bishop Deogracias Iniguez, 72, and San Pablo Bishop Leo Drona, 71.

Both resigned from their posts ahead of the retirement age of 75.

Canon 401, par. 2 of the Code of Canon Law provides that a diocesan bishop who becomes unsuited for duties due to illness or other grave reason is requested to tender his resignation from office.

No comments: